How To: Removing/Forget a Network

When you connect to a new Wi-Fi network it is added and stored in a list of profiles.  

If you're having issues with a wireless network, forgetting it and reconnecting will often solve the issue. Also, if you are connected to a network and you don't want it to automatically connect anymore, forgetting it will stop that behavior.

The following instructions guide you through the process of deleting a wireless profile that is no longer needed.

Removing/forgetting a network in Windows 10

  1. Click the Network icon on the lower right corner of your screen.
  2. Click Network and Internet settings.

  1. Click Manage known networks.

  1. Click the network you want to delete.
  2. Click Forget. The wireless network profile is deleted.

Removing/forgetting a network in macOS

  1. Click the Network icon on the top right corner of your screen.
  2. Click Open Network Preferences.

  1. Click Advanced.

  1. Click the Wi-Fi tab.
  2. Select the network you want to delete, and click the minus  symbol. The wireless network profile is deleted.

Need assistance?

If you need assistance, please submit an IT service request

Print Article

Details

Article ID: 71439
Created
Mon 2/4/19 4:49 PM
Modified
Tue 1/5/21 8:35 PM
Audience
Employees
Students

Related Services / Offerings (1)

North Central University offers wired and wireless connectivity to employees, students, and guests. If you have issues, please report issues via this service request.